8 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group:

  • Greenhalgh J, Bagust A, Beale S, et al., Apixaban for the treatment and secondary prevention of deep vein thrombosis and/or pulmonary embolism: A Single Technology Appraisal, December 2014

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to make written submissions. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Company:

  • Bristol‑Myers Squibb and Pfizer (apixaban)

II. Professional/expert and patient/carer groups:

  • Anticoagulation Europe

  • British Society for Haematology

  • British Thoracic Society

  • Clinical Leaders of Thrombosis

  • Lifeblood: The Thrombosis Charity

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • United Kingdom Clinical Pharmacy Association

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS England

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Bayer (rivaroxaban)

  • Department of Health and Social Services and Public Safety, Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • National Institute for Health Research Technology Assessment Programme

  • Sanofi (enoxaparin)

  • LEO Pharma (tinzaparin)

  • Liverpool Reviews & Implementation Group, University of Liverpool

  • Pfizer (dalteparin)

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical expert and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on apixaban by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing a written statement to the Committee. They are invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Tim Nokes, Consultant Haematologist, nominated by organisation representing Bristol‑Myers Squibb and Pfizer – clinical expert

  • Dr Will Lester, Consultant Haematologist, nominated by organisation representing Royal College of Pathologists and British Society of Haematology – clinical expert

  • Professor Beverley Hunt, Medical Director of Lifeblood: The Thrombosis Charity, nominated by organisation representing Lifeblood: The Thrombosis Charity – patient expert

  • Mrs Diane Eaton, Project Development Manager of Anticoagulation Europe, nominated by organisation representing Anticoagulation Europe – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following company attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Bristol‑Myers Squibb and Pfizer (apixaban)

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)