8 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

8 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Liverpool reviews and implementation group:

  • Fleeman N, Bagust A, Beale S, Boland A, Dwan K, Kotas E, McEntee J, Ahmad S. Ciclosporin for treating dry eye disease: A Single Technology Appraisal. LRiG, University of Liverpool, 2015

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to make written submissions. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Company:

  • Santen Pharmaceutical GmbH

II. Professional/expert and patient/carer groups:

  • Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB)

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Ophthalmologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS England

  • NHS Ipswich and East Suffolk CCG

  • NHS Shropshire CCG

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Allergan

  • Moorfields Pharmaceuticals

  • Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group (LRiG)

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical expert and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on Ciclosporin for treating dry eye disease by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing a written statement to the Committee. They are invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Francisco Figueiredo, Honorary Clinical professor nominated by Santen – clinical expert

  • Dr Kostas Boboridis, Assistant Professor in Ophthalmology, nominated by Allergan  – clinical expert

E. Representatives from the following company attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Santen Pharmaceutical

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)