7 Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Andrew Stevens
Chair of Appraisal Committee C, Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Professor Eugene Milne
Vice Chair of Appraisal Committee C, Director for Adult and Older Adult Health and Wellbeing, Public Health England

Professor Kathryn Abel
Director of Centre for Women's Mental Health, University of Manchester

Dr David Black
Medical Director, NHS South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw

Mr David Chandler
Lay Member

Mrs Gail Coster
Advanced Practice Sonographer, Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Peter Crome
Honorary Professor, Department of Primary Care and Population Health, University College London

Professor Rachel A Elliott
Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Dr Greg Fell
Consultant in Public Health, Bradford Metropolitan Borough Council

Dr Alan Haycox
Reader in Health Economics, University of Liverpool Management School

Dr Janice Kohler
Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Paediatric Oncology, Southampton University Hospital Trust

Ms Emily Lam
Lay Member

Dr Nigel Langford
Consultant in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics and Acute Physician, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dr Allyson Lipp
Principal Lecturer, University of South Wales

Dr Claire McKenna
Research Fellow in Health Economics, University of York

Professor Gary McVeigh
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Queen's University Belfast and Consultant Physician, Belfast City Hospital

Dr Grant Maclaine
Formerly – Director, Health Economics and Outcomes Research, BD, Oxford

Dr Andrea Manca
Health Economist and Senior Research Fellow, University of York

Mr Henry Marsh
Consultant Neurosurgeon, St George's Hospital, London

Dr Suzanne Martin
Reader in Health Sciences

Dr Iain Miller
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Health Strategies Group

Professor Stephen O'Brien
Professor of Haematology, Newcastle University

Dr Anna O'Neill
Deputy Head of Nursing and Healthcare School/Senior Clinical University Teacher, University of Glasgow

Dr Malcolm Oswald
Lay Member

Dr Alan Rigby
Academic Reader, University of Hull

Professor Peter Selby
Consultant Physician, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Matt Stevenson
Technical Director, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Mr Cliff Snelling
Lay Member

Professor Iain Squire
Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

Dr Paul Tappenden
Reader in Health Economic Modelling, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Professor Robert Walton
Clinical Professor of Primary Medical Care, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry

Dr Judith Wardle
Lay Member

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Martyn Burke and Carl Prescott
Technical Leads

Fay McCracken
Technical Adviser

Nicole Fisher and Lori Farrar
Project Managers

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)