8 Sources of evidence considered by the committee

A. The assessment report for this appraisal was prepared by BMJ‑TAG:

  • Edwards SJ, Barton S, Thurgar E et al. Topotecan, pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride, paclitaxel, trabectedin and gemcitabine for the treatment of recurrent ovarian cancer: A Multiple Technology Appraisal. BMJ‑TAG, London, July 2013.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, assessment report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I, II and III were also invited to make written submissions and have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Companies/sponsors:

  • Eli Lilly (gemcitabine)

  • GlaxoSmithKline (topotecan)

  • Janssen‑Cilag (pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride)

  • PharmaMar (trabectedin)

II. Professional/expert and patient/carer groups:

  • Ovacome

  • Ovarian Cancer Action

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • Target Ovarian Cancer

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (without the right of appeal):


  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Health Improvement Scotland

  • Merck Sharp & Dohme (vintafolide)

  • National Collaborating Centre for Cancer

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

  • Pfizer (cisplatin)

  • Roche Products (bevacizumab)

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical expert and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They participated in the appraisal committee discussions and provided evidence to inform the appraisal committee's deliberations. They gave their expert personal view on topotecan, pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride, paclitaxel, trabectedin and gemcitabine for the treatment of recurrent ovarian cancer by attending committee discussions and/or providing written evidence to the committee.

  • Professor Charlie Gourley, Professor and Honorary Consultant in Medical Oncology, nominated by organisation representing Healthcare Improvement Scotland – clinical expert (attended first discussion only)

  • Professor Jonathan A Ledermann, Professor of Medical Oncology, UCL Cancer Institute & Clinical Director Cancer Services UCL Hospitals, London, nominated by organisation representing Royal College of Physicians – clinical expert

  • Mrs Tilean Clarke, Professional Support Manager, nominated by organisation representing Target Ovarian Cancer – patient expert

  • Ms Wendy Fisher, Retired University Lecturer, nominated by organisation representing Ovarian Cancer Action – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following company attended committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • PharmaMar

ISBN: 978‑1‑4731‑1820‑1

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)