Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A. Appraisal Committee members

NOTE The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members between them attending meetings of all branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr A E Ades
Senior Scientist, MRC Health Services Research Collaboration,

University of Bristol
Professor Ron Akehurst Dean, School of Health Related Research, University of Sheffield

Dr Tom Asla
General Practitioner, Stockwell, London

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor Sheila Bird
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge

Dr Karl Claxton
Health Economist, University of York

Dr Richard Cookson
Senior Lecturer, Health Economics, School of Health Policy and Practice, University of East Anglia, Norwich

Professor Gary A Ford
Professor of Pharmacology of Old Age/Consultant Physician, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

Ms Bethan George
Interface Liaison Pharmacist, Tower Hamlets PCT and Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel

Dr Trevor Gibbs
Head, Global Clinical Safety & Pharmacovigilance, GlaxoSmithKline, Greenford

Mr John Goulston
Director of Finance, Barts and the London NHS Trust

Professor Robert Kerwin
Professor of Psychiatry and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute
of Psychiatry, London

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner, The Firs, London

Mr Muntzer Mughal
Consultant Surgeon, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, Chorley

James Partridge
Chief Executive, Changing Faces

Mrs Kathryn Roberts
Nurse Practitioner, Hyde, Cheshire

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Ms Anne Smith
Lay Representative; Trustee, Long-Term Medical Conditions Alliance

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice-Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr Cathryn Thomas
General Practitioner, and Senior Lecturer, Department of Primary Care & General Practice, University of Birmingham

Dr Norman Vetter
Reader, Department of Epidemiology, Statistics and Public Health, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Dr David Winfield
Consultant Haematologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

B. NICE Project Team

Each appraisal of a technology is assigned to a Health Technology Analyst and a Technology Appraisal Project Manager within the Institute.

Sarah Garner
Technical Lead, NICE project team

Louise Longworth
Technical Lead, NICE project team

Joanna Richardson
Technical Lead,NICE project team

Kathleen Dalby
Project Manager, NICE project team