Appendix B. Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The assessment report for this appraisal was produced by:

  • Peninsula Technology Assessment Group, Peninsula Medical School, Universities of Exeter and Plymouth

  • School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

  • Wessex Institute for Health Research and Development, University of Southampton.

Garside R, Stein K, Castelnuovo E, et al. The effectiveness and cost effectiveness of pimecrolimus and tacrolimus for atopic eczema, January 2004.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal. They were invited to make submissions and comment on the draft scope, Assessment Report and the Appraisal Consultation Document (ACD). Consultee organisations are provided with the opportunity to appeal against the Final Appraisal Determination.

I) Manufacturer/sponsors:

  • Fujisawa Ltd

  • Novartis Pharmaceuticals Ltd

II) Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • British Association of Dermatologists

  • Department of Health

  • Kensington and Chelsea Primary Care Trust

  • National Eczema Society

  • Royal College of General Practitioners

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society

  • Skin Care Campaign

  • Welsh Assembly Government

III) Commentator organisations (without the right of appeal):

  • British National Formulary

  • Centre of Evidence-Based Dermatology, University of Nottingham

  • NHS Confederation

  • NHS Purchasing and Supplies Agency

  • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

  • Skin Treatment & Research Trust

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical expert and patient advocate nominations from the professional/specialist and patient/carer groups. They participated in the Appraisal Committee discussions and provided evidence to inform the Appraisal Committee's deliberations. They gave their expert personal view on tacrolimus and pimecrolimus for atopic eczema by attending the initial Committee discussion and/or providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Ms Margaret Cox, Chief Executive, National Eczema Society, nominated by the National Eczema Society.

  • Dr John English, Consultant Dermatologist, Queens Medical Centre, Nottingham, nominated by the Centre of Evidence-Based Dermatology.

  • Professor John Harper, Consultant Paediatric Dermatologist, The Hospital for Sick Children, Great Ormond Street, nominated by the British Association of Dermatologists.

  • Dr Celia Moss, Consultant Dermatologist, Birmingham Children's Hospital, West Midlands NHS Trust, nominated by The National Eczema Society and The Centre of Evidence-Based Dermatology.

  • Dr Catherine H Smith, Consultant Dermatologist, Lewisham University Hospital, nominated by the British Association of Dermatologists.