8 Appraisal committee members and NICE project team

Appraisal committee members

The appraisal committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The appraisal committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The committee is split into three branches. In order to ensure consistency, the chair of each branch is also a member of a branch of which he is not chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each appraisal committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Darren Ashcroft
Senior Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Dr Peter Barry
Consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Mr Brian Buckley
Vice Chairman, InContact

Dr Mark Chakravarty
Head of Government Affairs and NHS Policy, Procter & Gamble Pharmaceuticals (UK) Ltd

Mr Richard Devereaux-Phillips
Public Affairs and Reimbursement Manager, Medtronic Ltd

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene

Professor Gary A Ford
Professor of Pharmacology of Old Age and Consultant Physician, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Fergus Gleeson
Consultant Radiologist, The Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Miss Linda Hands
Clinical Reader in Surgery, University of Oxford

Professor Peter Jones
Professor of Statistics and Dean, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Keele University

Professor Robert Kerwin
Professor of Psychiatry and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Psychiatry, London

Ms Rachel Lewis
Staff Nurse (Nephrology), Hull Royal Infirmary

Professor Jonathan Michaels
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Ruairidh Milne
Senior Lecturer in Public Health, National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment, University of Southampton

Dr Neil Milner
General Practitioner, Sheffield

Dr Rubin Minhas
General Practitioner with a Special Interest in Coronary Heart Disease, Primary Care CHD Lead, Medway PCT and Swale PCT

Mr Miles Scott
Chief Executive, Harrogate Health Care NHS Trust

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Ken Stein
Senior Clinical Lecturer in Public Health, Peninsula Medical School, Exeter

Professor Andrew Stevens (Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

NICE project team

Each appraisal of a technology is assigned to one or more health technology analysts and a technology appraisal project manager.

Eleanor Donegan, Louise Longworth and Sarah Garner
Technical Leads, NICE project team

Emily Marschke
Project Manager, NICE project team