Quality standard

About this quality standard

About this quality standard

NICE quality standards are a set of specific, concise statements and associated measures. They set out aspirational, but achievable, markers of high-quality, cost-effective patient care, covering the treatment and prevention of different diseases and conditions. Derived from the best available evidence such as NICE guidance and other evidence sources accredited by NHS Evidence, they are developed independently by NICE, in collaboration with NHS and social care professionals, their partners and service users, and address three dimensions of quality: clinical effectiveness, patient safety and patient experience.

The methods and processes for developing NICE quality standards are described in the healthcare quality standards process guide.

This quality standard has been incorporated into the NICE pathway for drug misuse.

We have produced a summary for patients and carers.

Changes after publication

May 2015: Minor maintenance.

April 2015: Minor maintenance.

April 2014: NICE's original guidance on needle and syringe programmes (NICE public health guidance 18) has been replaced by NICE public health guideline 52. References and links to NICE public health guidance 18 have been updated.


© National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence 2012. All rights reserved. NICE copyright material can be downloaded for private research and study, and may be reproduced for educational and not-for-profit purposes. No reproduction by or for commercial organisations, or for commercial purposes, is allowed without the written permission of NICE.