Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members, guideline representative and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with a chair and vice-chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam
Radiologist, St George's Hospital, London

Professor A E Ades
MRC Senior Scientist, MRC Health Services Research Collaboration, Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Amanda Adler
Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

Dr Tom Aslan
General Practitioner, Stockwell, London

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Mrs Elizabeth Brain
Lay member

Professor Karl Claxton
Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Dr Richard Cookson
Senior Lecturer in Health Economics, School of Medicine Health Policy and Practice, University of East Anglia

Mrs Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital

Professor Christopher Eccleston
Director, Pain Management Unit, University of Bath

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton and Somerset NHS Trust

Professor John Geddes
Professor of Epidemiological Psychiatry, University of Oxford

Mr John Goulston
Director of Finance, Barts and the London NHS Trust

Mr Adrian Griffin
Health Outcomes Manager, Johnson & Johnson Medical Ltd

Ms Linda Hands
Consultant Surgeon, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford

Dr Elizabeth Haxby
Lead Clinician in Clinical Risk Management, Royal Brompton Hospital

Dr Rowan Hillson
Consultant Physician, Diabeticare, The Hillingdon Hospital

Dr Catherine Jackson
Clinical Senior Lecturer in Primary Care Medicine, University of Dundee

Professor Philip Home (Vice Chair)
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, Newcastle University

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner, The Firs, London

Professor Richard Lilford
Professor of Clinical Epidemiology, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Dr Simon Maxwell
Senior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology and Honorary Consultant Physician, Queen's Medical Research Institute, University of Edinburgh

Dr Simon Mitchell
Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester

Ms Judith Paget
Chief Executive, Caerphilly Local Health Board, Wales

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay member

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Mr Mike Spencer
General Manager, Clinical Support Services, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Dr Debbie Stephenson
Head of HTA Strategy, Eli Lilly and Company

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr Cathryn Thomas
General Practitioner and Associate Professor, Department of Primary Care and General Practice, University of Birmingham

Dr Simon Thomas
Consultant Physician, General Medicine and Clinical Pharmacology, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr David Thomson
Lay member

Dr Norman Vetter
Reader, Department of Epidemiology, Statistics and Public Health, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Professor Mary Watkins
Professor of Nursing, University of Plymouth

Dr Paul Watson
Medical Director, Essex Strategic Health Authority

B Guideline representative

The following individual, representing the National Collaborating Centre responsible for developing NICE's cancer service guidelines, was invited to attend all Appraisal Committee meetings to observe and to contribute as an adviser to the Committee.

  • Dr Fergus Macbeth, Director, National Collaborating Centre for Cancer

C NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Elangovan Gajraj
Technical Lead

Louise Longworth
Technical Adviser

Alana Miller
Project Manager