Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members, public health programme representative and NICE project team

A. Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, with a chair and vice chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr David W Black
Director of Public Health, Derbyshire County PCT

Mr Brian Buckley
Chairman, Incontact

Dr Carol Campbell
Senior Lecturer, University of Teeside

Professor Mike Campbell
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Sheffield

Ms Jude Cohen
Manager of Resources and Administration, Council for Psychotherapy (UKCP)

Dr Christine Davey
Senior Researcher, North Yorkshire Alliance R & D Unit

Dr Mike Davies
Consultant Physician, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Mr Richard Devereaux-Phillips
Public Affairs Manager, Medtronic

Dr Rachel A Elliott
Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Manchester

Mrs Eleanor Grey
Lay member

Dr Catherine Jackson
Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care Medicine, Alyth Health Centre

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Ms Rachel Lewis
Practice Development Facilitator, Manchester PCT

Professor Jonathan Michaels
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Eugene Milne
Deputy Medical Director, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Richard Alexander Nakielny
Consultant Radiologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

Dr Katherine Payne
Health Economics Research Fellow, University of Manchester

Professor Andrew Stevens (Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr Cathryn Thomas
Senior Lecturer, University of Birmingham

B Public health programme representative

The following individual, representing the programme development group responsible for developing the Institute's public health programme guidance related to this topic, attended the meeting to observe and to contribute as an adviser to the Committee.

  • Dr Paul Aveyard, Senior Lecturer, Department of Primary Care and General Practice, University of Birmingham

C. NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Prashanth Kandaswamy
Technical Lead

Louise Longworth
Technical Adviser

Chris Feinmann
Project Manager