Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group:

  • Bagust A et al, Rituximab for the treatment of relapsed or refractory stage III or IV follicular non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, August 2007.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II gave their expert views on rituximab by providing a written statement to the Committee. Organisations listed in I and II have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I) Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Roche Products (rituximab)

II) Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Cancer Research UK

  • Cancerbackup

  • Department of Health

  • East Riding of Yorkshire PCT

  • Leukaemia Care Society

  • Lymphoma Association

  • Macmillan Cancer Relief

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal of Pathologists

  • Royal of Physicians Medical Oncology Joint Special Committee

  • UK Oncology Nursing Society

III) Other:

  • British National Formulary

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group, University

  • Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)

  • MRC Clinical Trials Unit, Cancer Division

  • National Collaborating Centre for Cancer

  • National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment

  • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

  • Schering Healthcare (fludarabine)

  • Schering Plough (doxorubicin)

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient advocate nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on rituximab by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Terry J Hamblin, Professor of Immunohaematology, nominated by the Royal College of Pathologists – clinical specialist

  • Professor Barry Hancock, Professor in Clinical Oncology, nominated by the UK Oncology Nursing Society – clinical specialist

  • Ms Catriona Gilmour-Hamilton, Medical Writer/Medical Liaison, nominated by the Lymphoma Association – patient expert

  • Mr Philip McIntyre, Regional Manager, nominated by the Lymphoma Association – patient expert