Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam (Chair) Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital

Professor Philip Home (Vice Chair), member until May 2011 Professor of Diabetes Medicine, Newcastle University

Professor A E Ades Professor of Public Health Science, Department of Community Based Medicine, University of Bristol

Elizabeth Brain, member until November 2010 Lay member

Professor Karl Claxton, member until February 2010 Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Dr Fiona Duncan Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Christopher Earl Surgical Care Practitioner, Renal Transplant Unit, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Dr Paul Ewings, member until November 2010 Statistician, Taunton and Somerset NHS Trust, Taunton

John Goulston, member until May 2011 Chief Executive, Barking, Havering and Redbridge Hospitals NHS Trust

Adrian Griffin VP Strategic Affairs, LifeScan, Johnson & Johnson

Professor Jonathan Grigg Professor of Paediatric Respiratory and Environmental Medicine, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University London

Dr Peter Heywood Consultant Neurologist, Frenchay Hospital

Dr Sharon Saint Lamont Head of Quality and Innovation, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Ian Lewin Consultant Endocrinologist, North Devon District Hospital

Dr Louise Longworth Reader in Health Economics, HERG, Brunel University

Dr Alec Miners Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr James Moon, member until July 2011 Consultant Cardiologist and Senior Lecturer, University College London Hospital (UCLH) and UCL

Dr David Newsham Lecturer (Orthoptics), University of Liverpool

Ms Pamela Rees Lay member

Dr Ann Richardson Lay member

Dr Paul Robinson Medical Director, Merck Sharp & Dohme

Angela Schofield Chairman, Bournemouth and Poole Teaching PCT

Mr Stephen Sharp Senior Statistician, MRC Epidemiology Unit

Dr Eldon Spackman Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Mr Mike Spencer Assistant Director Patient Experience, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board

Professor Iain Squire Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

David Thomson Lay member

William Turner Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital

Dr Luke Twelves General Practitioner, Ramsey Health Centre, Cambridgeshire

Dr John Watkins Clinical Senior Lecturer/Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Cardiff University and National Public Health Service Wales

Dr Anthony S Wierzbicki Consultant in Metabolic Medicine/Chemical Pathology, Guy's and St Thomas' Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Olivia Wu Reader in Health Economics, University of Glasgow

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Pall Jonsson, Fay McCracken and Whitney Miller Technical Leads

Nicola Hay and Helen Knight Technical Advisers

Bijal Joshi Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)