8 Appraisal committee members

The appraisal committee is a statutory committee whose members sit for 3 years. Two meetings are held per month and the majority of members attend one or the other. Declared interests may also exclude a member from individual technology appraisals. The committee are supplemented by technology specific experts.

Professor R. L. Akehurst
Dean, School of Health Related Research Sheffield University

Professor David Barnett (Chairman)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology University of Leicester

Professor Sir Colin Berry
Professor of Morbid Anatomy St Bartholomew's and Royal London School of Medicine

Dr Sheila Bird
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge

Professor Martin Buxton
Director of Health Economics Research Group Brunel University

Dr Karl Claxton
Lecturer in Economics University of York

Professor Duncan Colin-Jones
Professor of Gastroenterology University of Southampton

Professor Sarah Cowley
Professor of Community Practice Development Kings College, London

Dr Nicky Cullum
Reader in Health Studies University of York

Mr Chris Evennett
Chief Executive Mid-Hampshire Primary Care Group

Professor Terry Feest
Clinical Director and Consultant Nephrologist Richard Bright Renal Unit and Chairman of the UK Renal Registry

Ms Jean Gaffin
Formerly Executive Director National Council for Hospice and Specialist Palliative Care Service

Mrs Sue Gallagher
Chief Executive Merton, Sutton and Wandsworth Health Authority

Dr Trevor Gibbs
International Medical Operations Director GlaxoWellcome R&D Ltd

Mr John Goulston
Director of Finance The Royal Free Hampstead NHS Trust

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine University of Newcastle

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner The Firs, London

Dr Diane Ketley
Research into Practice Programme Leader NHS Modernisation Agency

Dr Mayur Lakhani
General Practitioner, Highgate Surgery, Leicester and Lecturer, University of Leicester

Mr M Mughal
Consultant Surgeon Chorley and South Ribble NHS Trust

Mr James Partridge
Chief Executive Changing Faces

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology University of Wales

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice-Chairman)
Professor of Public Health University of Birmingham