9 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by BMJ Technology Assessment Group:

  • Edwards SJ, Barton S, Nherera L et al. Pixantrone monotherapy for the treatment of relapsed or refractory aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma: a single technology appraisal, February 2013

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation documents (ACDs). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Cell Therapeutics

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • British Society for Haematology

  • Cancer Research UK

  • Leukaemia CARE

  • Lymphoma Association

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Greater Manchester (PCT Cluster)

  • South Essex (PCT Cluster)

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • BMJ Group

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Lilly UK

  • MRC Clinical Trials Unit

  • National Collaborating Centre for Cancer

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

  • Pfizer

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on pixantrone monotherapy for the treatment of relapsed or refractory aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Andrew McMillan, Consultant Haematologist, nominated by the Royal College of Physicians – clinical specialist

  • Dr Ruth Pettengell, Reader in Haemato-Oncology, nominated by the Royal College of Physicians – clinical specialist

  • Jacky Wilson, Medical Writer, nominated by Lymphoma Association – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Cell Therapeutics

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)