7 Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3‑year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Andrew Stevens
Chair of Appraisal Committee C, Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Professor Eugene Milne
Vice Chair of Appraisal Committee C, Deputy Regional Director of Public Health, North East Strategic Health Authority, Newcastle upon Tyne

Professor Kathryn Abel
Director of Centre for Women's Mental Health, University of Manchester

Dr David Black
Medical Director, NHS South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw

Dr Andrew Burnett
Formerly – Director for Health Improvement and Medical Director, NHS Barnet, London

David Chandler
Lay member

Gail Coster
Advanced Practice Sonographer, Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Peter Crome
Honorary Professor, Department of Primary Care and Population Health, University College London

Dr Maria Dyban
GP, Kings Road Surgery, Cardiff

Professor Rachel A Elliott
Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Dr Greg Fell
Consultant in Public Health, Bradford Metropolitan Borough Council

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Dr Janice Kohler
Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Paediatric Oncology, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust

Emily Lam
Lay member

Dr Nigel Langford
Consultant in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics/Acute Physician, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dr Allyson Lipp
Principal Lecturer, University of South Wales

Dr Andrea Manca
Health Economist and Senior Research Fellow, University of York

Henry Marsh
Consultant Neurosurgeon, St George's Hospital, London

Dr Iain Miller
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Health Strategies Group

Dr Paul Miller
Director, Payer Evidence, AstraZeneca UK Ltd

Professor Stephen O'Brien
Professor of Haematology, Newcastle University

Dr Anna O'Neill
Deputy Head of Nursing & Health Care School/Senior Clinical University Teacher, University of Glasgow

Dr Claire Rothery
Research Fellow in Health Economics, University of York

Professor Peter Selby
Consultant Physician, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Tim Stokes
Senior Clinical Lecturer, University of Birmingham

Dr Paul Tappenden
Reader in Health Economic Modelling, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Professor Robert Walton
Clinical Professor of Primary Medical Care, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry

Dr Judith Wardle
Lay member

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Grace Jennings and Boglarka Mikudina
Technical Leads

Zoe Garrett
Technical Adviser

Lori Farrar
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)