Appendix A: Appraisal committee members

The appraisal committee is a standing advisory committee of NICE. Its members are appointed for a 3‑year term. The appraisal committee meets 3 times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The committee membership is split into three branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members between them attending meetings of all branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each appraisal committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations interests, are posted on the NICE website.

The following is a list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal.

Dr Jane Adam
Radiologist, St George's Hospital, London

Professor R L Akehurst
Dean, School of Health Related Research, Sheffield University

Dr Sunil Angris
General Practitioner,Waterhouses Medical Practice

Professor David Barnett (Chairman)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr Sheila Bird
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge

Professor Carol Black
Consultant Physician, Royal Free Hospital & UCL, London

Professor John Brazier
Health Economist, University of Sheffield

Professor Martin Buxton
Director of Health Economics Research Group, Brunel University

Professor Mike Campbell
Statistician, Institute of General Practice & Primary Care, Sheffield

Dr Karl Claxton
Health Economist, University of York

Professor Sarah Cowley
Professor of Community Practice Development, Kings College, London

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, London

Mr Chris Evennett
Chief Executive, Mid-Hampshire Primary Care Trust

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton & Somerset NHS Trust

Professor Terry Feest
Clinical Director and Consultant Nephrologist, Richard Bright Renal Unit, and Chairman of the UK Renal Registry

Professor Gary A Ford
Professor of Pharmacology of Old Age/ Consultant Physician,Wolfson Unit of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Newcastle

Mrs Sue Gallagher
Chief Executive, Merton, Sutton and Wandsworth Health Authority

Dr Trevor Gibbs
Head, Global Clinical Safety & Pharmacovigilance, GlaxoSmithKline

Sally Gooch
Director of Nursing, Mid-Essex Hospital Services Trust

Mr John Goulston
Director of Finance, The Royal Free Hampstead NHS Trust

Professor Trisha Greenhalgh
Professor of Primary Health Care, University College London

Miss Linda Hands
Consultant Vascular Surgeon, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, University of Newcastle

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner, The Firs, London

Dr Diane Ketley
Research into Practice Programme Leader, NHS Modernisation Agency

Dr Mayur Lakhani
General Practitioner, Highgate Surgery, Leicester, and Lecturer, University of Leicester

Ruth Lesirge
Lay Representative; Director, Mental Health Foundation

Dr George Levvy
Lay Representative; Chief Executive, Motor Neurone Disease Association

Dr Gill Morgan
CEO, North & East Devon Health Authority

Professor Miranda Mugford
Health Economist, University of East Anglia

Mr M Mughal
Consultant Surgeon, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr James Partridge
Lay Representative; Chief Executive, Changing Faces

Siân Richards
General Manager, Cardiff Local Health Group

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Wales

Dr Rhiannon Rowsell
Pharmaceutical Physician, AstraZeneca UK Ltd

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice-Chairman)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Professor Ray Tallis
Consultant Physician, Hope Hospital, Salford

Dr Cathryn Thomas
General Practitioner, and Senior Lecturer, Department of Primary Care and General Practice, University of Birmingham

Professor Mary Watkins
Head of Institute of Health Studies, University of Plymouth

Dr Norman Waugh
Public Health Consultant, University of Southampton