Appendix A: Appraisal committee members

The appraisal committee is a standing advisory committee of NICE. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The appraisal committee meets 3 times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The committee membership is split into 3 branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members between them attending meetings of all branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each appraisal committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam
Radiologist, St George's Hospital, London

Dr Sunil Angris
General Practitioner, Waterhouses Medical Practice, Staffordshire

Dr Darren Ashcroft
Senior Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor John Brazier
Health Economist, University of Sheffield

Professor Mike Campbell
Statistician, Institute of General Practice & Primary Care, Sheffield

Dr Mike Davies
Consultant Physician, University Department of Medicine & Metabolism, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Dr Cam Donaldson
PPP Foundation Professor of Health Economics, School of Population and Health Sciences & Business School, Business School – Economics, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton & Somerset NHS Trust, Taunton

Ms Sally Gooch
Director of Nursing, Mid-Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust, Chelmsford

Miss Linda Hands
Clinical Reader in Surgery, University of Oxford

Ms Ruth Lesirge
Lay Representative, previously Director, Mental Health Foundation, London

Dr George Levvy
Lay Representative, Chief Executive, Motor Neurone Disease Association, Northampton

Dr Gill Morgan
Chief Executive, NHS Confederation, London

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Mr Miles Scott
Chief Executive, Harrogate Health Care NHS Trust

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice-Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Professor Mary Watkins
Professor of Nursing, University of Plymouth

Dr Norman Waugh
Senior Lecturer & Public Health Consultant, University of Southampton