Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members

NOTE: The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members between them attending meetings of all branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Tom Aslan
General Practitioner, Stockwell, London

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor Sir Colin Berry (term of office ended October 2002)
Retired Professor of Morbid Anatomy & Histopathology, The Royal London Hospital

Dr Sheila Bird
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge

Professor Rosamund Bryar
Professor of Community & Primary Care Nursing, St Bartholomew's School of Nursing & Midwifery, London

Dr Karl Claxton
Health Economist, University of York

Dr Richard Cookson
Senior Lecturer, Health Economics, School of Health Policy and Practice, University of East Anglia, Norwich

Professor Sarah Cowley (term of office ended October 2002)
Professor of Community Practice Development, Kings College, London

Professor Nicky Cullum (up to January 2002)
Professor in Health Sciences/Director, Centre for Evidence-based Nursing, University of York

Mr Chris Evennett (up to June 2002)
Chief Executive, Mid-Hampshire Primary Care Trust, Winchester

Professor Terry Feest
Clinical Director & Consultant Nephrologist, Richard Bright Renal Unit, & Chair of UK Renal Registry, Bristol

Professor Gary A Ford
Professor of Pharmacology of Old Age/Consultant Physician, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

Ms Jean Gaffin (up to February 2002)
Formerly Executive Director National Council for Hospice and Specialist Palliative Care Service

Mrs Sue Gallagher (term of office ended October 2002)
Former Chief Executive, Merton, Sutton & Wandsworth Health Authority, London

Ms Bethan George
Interface Liaison Pharmacist, Tower Hamlets PCT and Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel

Dr Trevor Gibbs
Head, Global Clinical Safety & Pharmacovigilance, GlaxoSmithKline, Greenford

Mr John Goulston
Director of Finance, St Bartholomew's Hospital & the London NHS Trust

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner, The Firs, London

Dr Diane Ketley (term of office ended August 2002)
Research into Practice Programme Leader, NHS Modernisation Agency, Leicester

Dr Mayur Lakhani (term of office ended August 2002)
General Practitioner, Highgate Surgery, Leicester, & Lecturer, University of Leicester

Mr Muntzer Mughal
Consultant Surgeon, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, Chorley

Mr James Partridge
Lay Representative; Chief Executive, Changing Faces, London

Mrs Kathryn Roberts
Nurse Practitioner, Hyde, Cheshire

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Ms Anne Smith
Consultant (Management) and Trustee of the Long-Term Medical Conditions Alliance

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice-Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr Cathryn Thomas
General Practitioner, & Senior Lecturer, Department of Primary Care & General Practice, University of Birmingham

Dr Norman Vetter
Reader, Department of Epidemiology, Statistics and Public Health, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Dr David Winfield
Consultant Haematologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield