Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A. Appraisal Committee members

NOTE The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets twice a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members between them attending meetings of all branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Anthony Ades
MRC Senior Scientist, MRC Health Services Research Collaboration, University of Bristol

Dr Tom Aslan
General Practitioner, Stockwell, London

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor Sheila M Bird
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge

Professor Rosamund Bryar
Professor of Community and Primary Care Nursing, St Bartholomew's School of Nursing and Midwifery, London

Dr Rodney Burnham
Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist, Oldchurch Hospital, Romford

Dr Gary Butler
Consultant Paediatrician/Endocrinologist, Leeds General Infirmary

Dr Karl Claxton
Health Economist, University of York

Dr Richard Cookson
Senior Lecturer, Health Economics, School of Medicine, Health Policy and Practice, University of East Anglia, Norwich

Dr Christopher Eccleston
Director, Pain Management Unit, University of Bath

Professor Terry Feest
Clinical Director & Consultant Nephrologist, Richard Bright Renal Unit, & Chair of UK Renal Registry, Bristol

Ms Alison Forbes
Chief Executive, Hoffman de Visme Foundation, London

Professor Gary A Ford
Professor of Pharmacology of Old Age/Consultant Physician, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

Ms Bethan George
Interface Liaison Pharmacist, Tower Hamlets PCT and Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel

Professor John Geddes
Professor of Epidemiological Psychiatry, University of Oxford

Dr Trevor Gibbs
Head, Global Clinical Safety and Pharmacovigilance, GlaxoSmithKline

Mr John Goulston
Director of Finance, Bart's and the London NHS Trust

Mr Adrian Griffin
Health Outcomes Manager, Johnson & Johnson Medical Ltd

Dr Elizabeth Haxby
Lead Clinician in Clinical Risk Management, Royal Brompton Hospital, London

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Dr Catherine Jackson
Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care Medicine, Alyth Health Centre, Angus

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner, The Firs, London

Professor Robert Kerwin
Professor of Psychiatry and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Psychiatry, London

Mr Muntzer Mughal
Consultant Surgeon, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, Chorley

Judith Paget
Chief Executive, Caerphilly Local Health Board, Wales

Dr Katherine Payne
Health Economist, Nowgen: The North West Genetics Knowledge Park, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester

Mr James Partridge
Chief Executive, Changing Faces

Mrs Kathryn Roberts
Nurse Practitioner, Hyde, Cheshire

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Ms Anne Smith
Trustee, Long-Term Medical Conditions Alliance

Dr Debbie Stephenson
Head of HTA Strategy, Eli Lilly and Company

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice-Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr Cathryn Thomas
General Practitioner, and Senior Lecturer, Department of Primary Care and General Practice, University of Birmingham

Dr Norman Vetter
Reader, Department of Epidemiology, Statistics and Public Health, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Dr Paul Watson
Medical Director, Essex Strategic Health Authority

Dr David Winfield
Consultant Haematologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

B. NICE Project Team

Each appraisal of a technology is assigned to one or more Health Technology Analyst(s) and a Technology Appraisal Project Manager within the Institute.

Eleanor Donegan and Louise Longworth
Technical Leads, NICE project team

Kathleen Dalby
Project Manager, NICE project team