Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A. Appraisal Committee members

NOTE The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets twice a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into two branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members attending meetings of both branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor A E Ades
MRC Senior Scientist, MRC Health Services Research Collaboration, Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Tom Aslan
General Practitioner, Stockwell, London

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Mrs Elizabeth Brain
Independent Patient Advocate

Professor Gary Butler
Professor of Paediatrics, University of Reading and Royal Berkshire Hospital

Dr Karl Claxton
Health Economist, University of York

Dr Richard Cookson
Senior Lecturer in Health Economics, School of Medicine Health Policy and Practice, University of East Anglia

Professor Christopher Eccleston
Director, Pain Management Unit, University of Bath

Professor Terry Feest
Professor of Clinical Nephrology, Southmead Hospital

Ms Alison Forbes
Health Consultant Associate, Eden Insight

Professor John Geddes
Professor of Epidemiological Psychiatry, University of Oxford

Mr John Goulston
Director of Finance, Barts and the London NHS Trust

Mr Adrian Griffin
Health Outcomes Manager, Johnson & Johnson Medical

Dr Elizabeth Haxby
Lead Clinician in Clinical Risk Management, Royal Brompton Hospital

Dr Rowan Hillson
Consultant Physician, Diabeticare, The Hillingdon Hospital

Dr Catherine Jackson
Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care Medicine, Alyth Health Centre, Angus

Mr Muntzer Mughal
Consultant Surgeon, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Ms Judith Paget
Chief Executive, Caerphilly Local Health Board

Dr Katherine Payne
Health Economist, The North West Genetics Knowledge Park, The University of Manchester

Dr Ann Richardson
Independent Research Consultant

Mrs Kathryn Roberts
Nurse Practitioner, Hattersley Group Practice, Cheshire

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Dr Debbie Stephenson
Head of HTA Strategy, Eli Lilly and Company

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice-Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr Cathryn Thomas
General Practitioner, Senior Lecturer, Department of Primary Care and General Practice, University of Birmingham

Dr Norman Vetter
Reader, Department of Epidemiology, Statistics and Public Health, College of Medicine, University of Wales, Cardiff

Dr Paul Watson
Medical Director, Essex Strategic Health Authority

Dr David Winfield
Consultant Haematologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

B. NICE Project Team

Each appraisal of a technology is assigned to a Health Technology Analyst and a Technology Appraisal Project Manager within the Institute.

Alastair Fischer
Technical Lead, NICE project team

Janet Robertson
Technical Advisor, NICE project team

Alana Miller
Project Manager, NICE project team