11 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

11 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics Advisory Committee

The Diagnostics Advisory Committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the Committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing Committee members

Professor Adrian Newland
Chair, Diagnostics Advisory Committee

Dr Mark Kroese
Vice Chair, Diagnostics Advisory Committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Professor Paul Collinson
Consultant Chemical Pathologist & Professor of Cardiovascular Biomarkers, St George's Hospital

Dr Sue Crawford
General Practitioner (GP) Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Ian A Cree
Senior Clinical Advisor, NIHR Evaluation Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre, University of Southampton

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Diagnostics, NHS England, Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of Health Technology Assessment, BMJ Evidence Centre

Mr David Evans
Lay member

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Mr John Hitchman
Lay Member

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG)

Mr Matthew Lowry
Director of Finance and Infrastructure, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Michael Messenger
Deputy Director and Scientific Manager NIHR Diagnostic Evidence Co‑operative, Leeds

Dr Peter Naylor
General Practitioner (GP), Chair Wirral Health Commissioning Consortia

Dr Dermot Neely
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Trust

Dr Richard Nicholas
Consultant Neurologist; Honorary Senior Lecturer, Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals

Dr Gail Norbury
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Guys Hospital

Dr Diego Ossa
Director of Market Access Europe, Novartis Molecular Diagnostics

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Mr Paul Weinberger
CEO, DiaSolve Ltd, London

Specialist Committee members

Dr Nick Wadd
Consultant Clinical Oncologist, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Gireesh Kumaran
Consultant Medical Oncologist, The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Joanne Lowe
Clinical Pharmacist (Gastrointestinal/Palliative Care), The Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Ann Cole
Lay member

Anne-Marie Hunter
Lay member

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a Technical Adviser and a Project Manager.

Rebecca Albrow
Topic Lead

Dr Sarah Byron
Technical Adviser

Robert Fernley
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)