Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Southampton Health Technology Assessment Centre:

  • Green C, Bryant J, Takeda A et al. Bortezomib for the treatment of multiple myeloma patients, April 2006

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II gave their expert views on bortezomib monotherapy for relapsed multiple myeloma by providing a written statement to the Committee. Organisations listed in I and II had the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I) Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Janssen-Cilag

II) Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Cancerbackup

  • International Myeloma Foundation (UK)

  • Leukaemia Care Society

  • Long-Term Medical Conditions Alliance

  • Macmillan Cancer Relief

  • Marie Curie Cancer Care

  • National Cancer Alliance

  • National Council for Palliative Care

  • Tenovus Cancer Information Centre

  • Association of Cancer Physicians

  • Association of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland

  • British Association of Surgical Oncology

  • British Oncological Association

  • British Oncology Pharmacy Association (BOPA)

  • British Psychosocial Oncology Society

  • British Society for Haematology

  • Cancer Research UK

  • Community Practitioners' and Health Visitors' Association

  • Royal College of General Practitioners

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh

  • Royal College of Physicians' Medical Oncology Joint Special Committee

  • Royal College of Radiologists

  • Royal College of Surgeons

  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society

  • UK Myeloma Forum

  • Department of Health

  • Sedgefield PCT

  • Southend PCT

  • Welsh Assembly Government

III) Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Board of Community Health Councils in Wales

  • British National Formulary

  • Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)

  • National Public Health Service for Wales

  • National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment (NCCHTA)

  • NHS Confederation

  • NHS Purchasing and Supplies Agency

  • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

  • Baxter Healthcare (cyclophosphamide)

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals (carmustine)

  • Clonmel Healthcare (vincristine)

  • GlaxoSmithKline (melphalan)

  • Mayne Pharma (doxorubicin, vincristine)

  • Medac (UK) (doxorubicin)

  • Pfizer (cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin)

  • Pharmion (thalidomide)

  • Schering-Plough (interferon alfa-2b)

  • Teva Pharmaceuticals (doxorubicin)

  • National Collaborating Centre for Cancer

  • Institute of Cancer Research

  • Haemato-oncology Department, King's College Hospital

  • Leukaemia Research Fund

  • MRC Clinical Trials Unit

  • National Cancer Research Institute

  • Scottish Medicine Consortium

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient advocate nominations from non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on bortezomib for the treatment of multiple myeloma by providing written or oral evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Gareth Morgan, Professor of Haematology and Head of Clinical Unit, nominated by the International Myeloma Foundation and the Institute of Cancer Research – clinical specialist

  • Dr Graham Jackson, Consultant Haematologist, nominated by the British Committee for Standards in Haematology – clinical specialist

  • Dr Stephen A Schey, Chair, UK Myeloma Forum – clinical specialist (present at the Appraisal Committee meeting on behalf of Dr Graham Jackson, who was unable to attend)

  • Mr Brian Jago, nominated by the International Myeloma Foundation – patient expert

  • Mr Eric Low, Chief Executive, International Myeloma Foundation (UK) – patient expert

  • Dr Jamie Cavenagh, Consultant Haematologist nominated by the British Society for Haematology – clinical specialist (present at FAD meeting)