7 Appraisal Committee members, and NICE project team

Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets 3 times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into 3 branches, each with a chair and vice-chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr David W Black
Director of Public Health, Derbyshire County Primary Care Trust

Mr David Chandler
Chief Executive, Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis Alliance

Mr Peter Clarke
Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology, Merseyside

Dr Christine Davey
Senior Researcher, North Yorkshire Alliance R & D Unit

Dr Mike Davies
Consultant Physician, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Mr Richard Devereaux-Phillips
Public Affairs Manager, Medtronic

Dr Rachel A Elliott
Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Mrs Eleanor Grey
Lay member

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Professor Peter Jones
Pro Vice Chancellor for Research and Enterprise, Keele University

Ms Rachel Lewis
Nurse Advisor to the Department of Health

Dr Damien Longson
Consultant in Liaison Psychiatry, North Manchester General Hospital

Professor Jonathan Michaels
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Eugene Milne
Deputy Medical Director, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Simon Mitchell
Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester

Dr Richard Alexander Nakielny
Consultant Radiologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

Dr Katherine Payne
Health Economics Research Fellow, University of Manchester

Dr Danielle Preedy
Senior Programme Manager, National Collaborating Centre for Efficacy and Mechanism Evaluation

Dr Martin J Price
Head of Outcomes Research, Janssen-Cilag

Dr Philip Rutledge
Consultant in Medicines Management, NHS Lothian

Dr Surinder Sethi
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, North West Specialised Services Commissioning Team

Professor Andrew Stevens
Chair of Appraisal Committee C

Dr Cathryn Thomas
Senior Lecturer, Department of Primary Care and General Practice, University of Birmingham

Dr William Turner
Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Rebecca Trowman
Technical Lead

Joanna Richardson
Technical Adviser

Chris Feinmann
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)