9 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

9 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics advisory committee

The diagnostics advisory committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing committee members

Professor Adrian Newland
Chair, diagnostics advisory committee and Professor of Haematology, Barts Health NHS Trust

Dr Mark Kroese
Vice chair, diagnostics advisory committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Dr Phil Chambers
Research Fellow, Leeds Institute of Cancer & Pathology, University of Leeds

Dr Sue Crawford
GP Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Diagnostics, NHS England, Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Mr David Evans
Lay member

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Mr John Hitchman
Lay member

Professor Chris Hyde
Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG)

Dr Michael Messenger
Deputy Director and Scientific Manager, National Institute for Health Research Diagnostic Evidence Co‑operative, Leeds

Dr Peter Naylor
GP, Chair Wirral Health Commissioning Consortia

Dr Dermot Neely
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Trust

Dr Gail Norbury
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Guy's Hospital

Dr Simon Richards
Vice President Regulatory Affairs, EME, Alere Inc

Dr Deirdre Ryan
Consultant Cellular Pathologist, Royal London Hospital

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Mr Paul Weinberger
Chief Executive Officer, DiaSolve Ltd, London

Professor Anthony Wierzbicki
Consultant in Metabolic Medicine/Chemical Pathology, St Thomas' Hospital

Specialist committee members

Dr Paul Turner
MRC Clinician Scientist and Clinical Senior Lecturer, Imperial College London

Dr Michael Ardern‑Jones
Associate Professor and Consultant Dermatologist, Southampton General Hospital

Dr Isabel Skypala
Consultant Allergy Dietitian and Clinical Lead for Food Allergy, Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust

Mrs Roisin Fitzsimons
Nurse Consultant in Paediatric Allergy, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Anthony Rowbottom
Consultant Clinical Immunologist, Royal Preston Hospital

Mr Boaz Gaventa
Lay member

Ms Jane Green
Lay member

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a Technical Adviser and a Project Manager.

Brendan Mullaney
Topic Lead (until January 2016)

Rebecca Albrow
Topic Lead (from February 2016)

Sarah Byron
Technical Adviser

Robert Fernley
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)