Public Health Advisory Committees (PHACs) are the standing committees responsible for the development of NICE public health guidance.

Each PHAC consists of a Chair, core and topic expert members. NICE has multiple PHACs in operation at any one time. Guidance topics are allocated to a PHAC following referral from the Department of Health. The allocated PHAC considers the evidence and makes recommendations for people working in the NHS, local government and in the wider public, private and voluntary sectors.

Members are drawn from the NHS, local government, healthcare professions, academia and the wider public health community.

Next meeting dates

There are multiple public health advisory committees (PHAC). Meetings are held in both Manchester and London.

Committee A

Committee A meetings are held in London

Behaviour change:

  • Friday 15 February 2019 - cancelled
  • Monday 8 April 2019
  • Tuesday 9 April 2019 - cancelled
  • Monday 3 June 2019
  • Tuesday 16 July 2019
  • Thursday 3 and Friday 4 October 2019.

Committee B

Committee B meetings are held in Manchester

Indoor air quality at home:

  • Wednesday 9 January 2019
  • Thursday 25 and Friday 26 July 2019.

Committee C

Committee C meetings are held in London

Alcohol in schools:

  • Thursday 11 April 2019.

Committee D

Committee D meetings are held in Manchester

Managing common infections:

  • Tuesday 5 March 2019
  • Tuesday 9 April 2019
  • Tuesday 14 May 2019
  • Tuesday 18 June 2019
  • Tuesday 23 July 2019
  • Tuesday 3 September 2019
  • Tuesday 8 October 2019
  • Tuesday 12 November 2019
  • Thursday 19 December 2019. 

Committee E

Committee E meetings are held in Manchester

Workplace health:

  • Thursday 7 and Friday 8 February 2019
  • Thursday 18 and Friday 19 July 2019.

Committee F

Committee F meetings are held in London

Tobacco suite:

  • Wednesday 6 February 2019 - cancelled
  • Tuesday 12 February 2019
  • Tuesday 26 March 2019 - cancelled
  • Wednesday 8 May 2019
  • Thursday 9 May 2019
  • Wednesday 15 May 2019 - cancelled
  • Tuesday 2 July 2019
  • Tuesday 24 and Wednesday 25 September 2019
  • Tuesday 5 and Wednesday 6 November 2019.

Dates and venues are subject to change.