Search results

211 results for maternity

Sorted by Relevance . Sort by Date

  1. Safe midwifery staffing for maternity settings (NG4)

    This guideline covers safe midwifery staffing in all maternity settings, including at home, in the community, in day assessment units, in obstetric units, and in units led by midwives (both alongside hospitals and free-standing). It aims to improve maternity care by giving advice on monitoring staffing levels and actions to take if there are not enough midwives to meet the needs of women and babies in the service.

  2. Smoking: acute, maternity and mental health services (PH48)

    This guideline covers helping people to stop smoking in acute, maternity and mental health services. It promotes smokefree policies and services and recommends effective ways to help people stop smoking or to abstain from smoking while using or working in secondary care settings.

  3. Maternity and mental health

    Part of NICEimpact maternity and neonatal care Previous: Updates from our last maternity report Next: Specialist care of...

  4. Antenatal care (QS22)

    This quality standard covers care for healthy women and their babies during pregnancy (up to 42 weeks). It covers routine antenatal care in primary, community and hospital settings. It describes high-quality care in priority areas for improvement.

  5. Caesarean section (QS32)

    This quality standard covers the care of women who are considering having or may need to have a caesarean section, including those who have had a caesarean section in the past. It includes decision-making, reducing the risk of complications and care after a caesarean section. It describes high-quality care in priority areas for improvement.

  6. Caesarean section

    Everything NICE has said on caesarean section in an interactive flowchart

  7. Diabetes in pregnancy

    Everything NICE has said on managing diabetes and its complications before, during and after pregnancy in an interactive flowchart

  8. Stop smoking interventions and services (NG92)

    This guideline covers stop smoking interventions and services delivered in primary care and community settings for everyone over the age of 12. It aims to ensure that everyone who smokes is advised and encouraged to stop and given the support they need. It emphasises the importance of targeting vulnerable groups who find smoking cessation hard or who smoke a lot.

  9. Postnatal care (QS37)

    This quality standard covers routine postnatal care for women and their babies (and their partners and families, if appropriate). This includes feeding support, advice on safe sleeping, and recognising and managing health problems in women and their babies. It describes high-quality care in priority areas for improvement.