Public Health Advisory Committees (PHACs) are the standing committees responsible for the development of NICE public health guidance.

Each PHAC consists of a Chair, core and topic expert members. NICE has multiple PHACs in operation at any one time. Guidance topics are allocated to a PHAC following referral from the Department of Health. The allocated PHAC considers the evidence and makes recommendations for people working in the NHS, local government and in the wider public, private and voluntary sectors.

Members are drawn from the NHS, local government, healthcare professions, academia and the wider public health community.

Next meeting dates

There are multiple public health advisory committees (PHAC). Meetings are held in both Manchester and London.

Committee A

Committee A meetings are held in London

Suicide prevention:

  • Wednesday 23 and Thursday 24 May 2018.

Committee B

Committee B meetings are held in Manchester

Indoor air quality at home:

  • Friday 11 May 2018
  • Friday 6 July 2018 (CANCELLED)
  • Friday 7 September 2018
  • Friday 12 October 2018
  • Tuesday 20 and Wednesday 21 November 2018.

Committee C

Committee C meetings are held in London

Alcohol in schools:

  • Tuesday 1 May 2018
  • Wednesday 2 May 2018
  • Friday 15 June 2018
  • Tuesday 31 July 2018
  • Thursday 18 and Friday 19 October 2018
  • Thursday 11 and Friday 12 April 2019.

Committee D

Committee D meetings are held in Manchester

Managing common infections:

  • Thursday 12 April 2018
  • Tuesday 15 May 2018
  • Tuesday 12 June 2018 (CANCELLED)
  • Monday 25 June 2018
  • Tuesday 17 July 2018 (CANCELLED)
  • Thursday 2 August 2018 (CANCELLED)
  • Tuesday 14 August 2018 (CANCELLED)
  • Tuesday 11 September 2018
  • Friday 12 October 2018
  • Tuesday 16 October 2018 (CANCELLED)
  • Tuesday 13 November 2018
  • Tuesday 11 December 2018 (CANCELLED)
  • Wednesday 19 December 2018. 

Committee E

Committee E meetings are held in Manchester

Workplace health:

  • Friday 13 July 2018 (CANCELLED)
  • Thursday 20 and Friday 21 September 2018
  • Tuesday 30 October 2018
  • Wednesday 12 December 2018.

Committee F

Committee F meetings are held in London

Future dates to be confirmed. 

Dates and venues are subject to change.